World News

Robert Lewandowski and Alexia Putellas win FIFA ‘Best’ | Football Stories

Lewandowski set a record for Bundesliga goals last season; Putellas led Barca to the Spanish league and two cups and the Champions League.

Bayern Munich Polish footballer Robert Lewandowski has retained the title of best player at FIFA’s The Best Awards 2021 event while Barcelona captain Alexia Putellas took home the award for best female player.

Thirty-three-year-old Lewandowski set a Bundesliga goal-scoring record last season, beating Lionel Messi of Argentina in Paris Saint-Germain and Egypt’s Mohamed Mohamed Salah of Liverpool to receive the award.

He scored 48 goals for the club and his country in 2020-2021.

“I’m happy and honored to win this award, and I feel proud,” Lewandowski said Monday.

Lewandowski scored against Bayern three times over the weekend, bringing his season to 39 goals in 33 games.

The cup was a consolation to the Polish player who lost Messi at the Ballon d’Or in November last year.

Putellas enjoyed a special 2020-2021 season with Barcelona, ​​leading the Catalans to the Spanish league with a double cup and the Champions League.[File:EPA}[File:EPA}[Fayilo:EPA}[File:EPA}

For Putellas, he won double the prize as the Spaniard defeated Barcelona teammate Jennifer Hermoso and Chelsea’s Australian striker Sam Kerr, as did the Ballon d’Or.

The 27-year-old midfielder enjoyed a special 2020-2021 season with Barcelona, ​​leading the Catalans to the Spanish league with a double cup and the Champions League.

“This competition is for everyone in the team,” Putellas said. “This competition will be an encouragement to all of us.”

Ronaldo’s special award

Cristiano Ronaldo won a Special Award for recognizing his world record for his country, and for his long-range 109 goal for Ali Daei in Iran.

The 36-year-old now has 115 goals in 184 games with Portugal after starting 18 years in 2003.

“I did not expect to win this title, and I thank my teammates for the past 20 years,” said Ronaldo, who also has a 140-goal Champions League record.

Chelsea’s Senegalese goal scorers Edouard Mendy and Christiane Endler of Lyon won gold medals.

Chelsea received all coaching awards through Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes.

Erik Lamela, now a Sevilla native, won the award for best goal-scoring prowess at Spurs in the North London derby.

Medical workers and Danish players, who experienced the fall of player Christian Eriksen at the Euro Stadium won the “fair-play” award.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button